Marion Weedermann named 2019-2020 Lund-Gill Chair

Marion Weedermann is a professor of mathematics at Dominican University. She also serves as the Director of Undergraduate Research, Scholarship and Creative Investigations and as the Director of the Joint Engineering Program. Prof. Weedermann earned an undergraduate degree in mathematics from Jόzsef Attila University in Szeged, Hungary and a PhD in applied mathematics from Georgia Institute of Technology.

Prof. Weedermann’s research is focused on the study of differential equations and mathematical modeling of biological and biochemical systems. She has published several papers on mathematical models for the spread of diseases as well as anaerobic digestion. One of her papers, "Mathematical model of anaerobic digestion in a chemostat: effects of syntrophy and inhibition" (with Gail S.K. Wolkowicz and Gunog Seo) won the biennial Lord Robert May Best Paper Prize of the Journal of Biological Dynamics , in which it was published in 2013.

About the Lund-Gill Chair

The Lund-Gill Chair is named for former Dominican University President Sr. Candida Lund, OP, and former English professor, Sr. Cyrille Gill, OP. Each year, the Lund-Gill Chair in the Rosary College of Arts and Sciences brings to campus an individual of the highest moral and intellectual reputation who can address themes and issues at the heart of the liberal arts and sciences.

Past Lund-Gill Chairs

2017-2018; 2018-2019: Molly J. Giblin, PhD, instructor in the Department of History at the University of Memphis
2016-2017: Robert Calin-Jageman, PhD, professor of psychology and director of the neuroscience program, Dominican University.
2015-2016: Sr. M. Paul McCaughey, Archbishop of Chicago's Delegate for School Advancement and Advocacy.
2014-2015: Ana Castillo, internationally acclaimed creative writer, scholar, editor, and translator.
2013-2014: Tricia Rose, Director of the Center for the Study of Race and Ethnicity in America at Brown University.
2012-2013: Christopher Kennedy, Chairman of Joseph P. Kennedy Enterprises.
2011-2012: Eboo Patel, PhD, founder and the executive director of the Interfaith Youth Core. 
2010-2011: Chia-Feng Chang, PhD, Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence and expert in Chinese science and medicine. 
2009-2010: Father Richard Woods, OP, professor of theology and former chair of the Ekhart Society .
2008-2009: Stephen Kinzer, a prize-winning journalist with the Boston Globe and New York Times.
2007-2008: David Bevington, the Phyllis Fay Horton Distinguished Service Professor in the Humanities at the University of Chicago.
2006-2007: Leon Lederman, Nobel prize-winning physicist who was the inaugural chair.