The Hispanic Heritage Award honors a Latino alumna/us who distinguishes him/herself through professional work in the context of the Dominican core values of scholarship, reflection, community, and service with a sustained dedication to the advancement of the Latino community. The Hispanic Heritage Award is awarded during Una Tarde en la Plaza each October.

To nominate an alumna/us for the Hispanic Heritage Award, click the following Nomination form and select “Hispanic Heritage Award” in the drop-down menu.

Nomination criteria include, but are not limited to:

  • Outstanding contributions in his/her professional field 
  • Outstanding contributions as demonstrated by policy or program involvement of regional or national significance for the Hispanic Community 
  • Distinguished community leadership whose contributions at the local community, state or national level in the areas of planning, practice, or implementation of programs have positively impacted the Hispanic community 
  • Publicly recognized commitment to advancing the living conditions of the Hispanic Community 
  • Commitment and dedication to advocate for the most disadvantaged sectors of the Latino community and their families 

Supplemental materials that cannot be uploaded may be mailed to Office of Alumnae/i Relations, Dominican University, 7900 W. Division Street, River Forest, IL 60305. You can also fax supplemental materials to (708) 366-4197.

Please email the Office of Alumnae/i Relations at (link sends e-mail) or call (708) 524-6286 with any questions regarding award nominations.

2018 Hispanic Heritage Award Recipient: Johanna Chavez Barsotti ’02

Johanna Chavez Barsotti ’02 is a highly versatile media and marketing strategist with 15 years of experience. She joined Tribune Publishing with Hoy in 2012, developing marketing strategies and solutions that connect Chicago businesses with the area’s vibrant Latino market.

This year, Johanna was elevated to industry strategist for Tribune Publishing, developing marketing solutions for health-care and education companies across Tribune’s 10 markets. Though she is helping her clients reach all populations, Johanna retains a focus on including Latino communities in these efforts.

Johanna has deep experience in market research, project management, and relationship building. She has also served as a professional mentor and provided pro bono consulting and marketing services to non-profit organizations. In 2015, Latino Leaders Magazine featured Johanna as one of Chicago’s Top Rising Leaders.

As a volunteer in the Chicagoland community, Johanna has served as the Director of Marketing Communications and PR for the National Society of Hispanic MBAs (now known as Prospanica); served on the board for both This Is ME and Student Resource Network; and volunteered for Purple Asparagus and The Cradle. Additionally, she has taught Mexican folklore dance to children and has helped immigrant students learn English and navigate the assimilation process.

Johanna also continues to be active at Dominican University by participating in the LatinX roundtable, which identifies ways to break down barriers for Dominican’s Latino students.

Johanna’s passion for enriching the lives of others, especially those from diverse backgrounds, shines through everything she achieves. She traces this commitment to her parents, who migrated from Mexico to the United States, and to growing up knowing firsthand the importance of accepting people and their cultural differences.

Johanna obtained a bachelor’s degree with a double major in international business and Italian from Dominican University, a certification in Multicultural Marketing from DePaul University and a certification in Digital Media Sales from Interactive Advertising Bureau.

Previous Hispanic Heritage Award Recipients

2017: Dr. Lisette Rodriguez-Cabezas ’06
2016: Gigi Benitez ’00
2015: Dora Elías McAllister ’98
2014: Erika Corona Owens ’08
2013: Rolando Galindo ’08
2012: Domenica Ottolino-Kaht ’86, MSW ’06
2011: Ramiro J. Atristaían-Carrión ’89
2010: D. Jean Ortega-Piron ’78
2009: Eric Trejo ’93, MBA ’01
2008: Hector Villagrana ’97
2007: Raul Magdaleno ’99
2006: Caroline Sanchez Crozier ’79
2005: Xochitl Espinosa ’00, Manuel Flores ’96, Aracely Barragan Lawrence ’94