Learn about our outstanding Borra College of Health Sciences faculty and view contact information.

Nursing

Kristen J. Bayer

Executive Director of Nursing

Email: kbayer@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6269
Office: Parmer 402B

Education
  • MSN, University of South Florida
  • APN
  • FNP-C
Area of Specialty
  • Obstetrics
  • Pharmacology

 

Michelle Allen

Lecturer

Email: mallen@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6272
Parmer 402I

Education
  • EdD, Benedictine University
  • MSN
  • RN
  • CCRN
  • CNE
  • CHSE
Area of Specialty
  • Critical Care

 

Tamara Bland

Director of RN-BSN Program

Email: tbland@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6386
Office: Parmer 402E

Education
  • MSN, Resurrection University
  • RN
Area of Specialty
  • Critical Care

 

Maureen Emlund

Clinical Simulation Manager

Email: memlund@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6637
Office: Parmer 400

Education
  • MSN, Benedictine University
  • RN
  • CPN
Areas of Specialty
  • Pediatrics
  • Simulation

 

Andrea Fitzsimmons

Clinical Placement Manager

Email: afitzsimmons@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6553
Office: Parmer 402D

Education
  • MSN, Saint Xavier University
  • RN
Areas of Specialty
  • Obstetrics
  • Admission
Dinapoles Galvan

Lecturer

Email: dgalvan@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6272
Office: Parmer 402E

Education
  • MSN, Chamberlain University
  • RN
Area of Specialty
  • Mental Health
Guadalupe Hernandez

Lecturer

Email: ghernandez1@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6397
Office: Parmer 402H

Education
  • MSN, Resurrection University
  • FNP-BC
Areas of Specialty
  • Medical-Surgery

 

Denise King

Lecturer

Email: dking@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6396
Office: Parmer 402G

Education
  • MSN, Georgetown University, Washington DC
  • RN-BC
  • CCM
Areas of Specialty
  • Health Assessment
  • Community Nursing

 

Denise Massey

Lecturer

Email: dmassey@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6271
Office: Parmer 402F

Education
  • MSN-Ed, University of Phoenix
  • RNC-OB
Area of Specialty
  • Obstetrics

 

Jonathan Uebelhor

Lecturer

Email: juebelhor@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6395
Office: Parmer 402A

Education
  • MSN, Loyola University
  • APN
Area of Specialty
  • Medical-Surgery

 

Yajaira Gonzalez

Administrative Assistant

Email: ygonzalez@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6634
Office: Parmer 402

Education
  • BSBA, Troy University, Alabama
Area of Specialty
  • Administration

 

Nutrition Sciences

Rose Ann Mathai

Chair, Department of Nutrition Sciences

Email: rmathai@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6906
Office: Parmer 102A

Education
  • PhD, RDN, LDN
  • PhD, MS, University of Illinois Urbana–Champaign, Nutrition Sciences
Patricia Abernathy

Head Start

Email: pabernathy@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 714-7350
Office: Priory 256

Education
  • MSW, RDN, LDN
  • MSW, Dominican University, BS Nutrition Dietetics
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
  • Health Wellness
Elisa Buzinski

Coordinating Inpatient Preceptor, Adjunct Professor

Email: ebuzinski@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 000

Education
  • MS, RDN, LDN
  • MS, Northern University, Nutrition
  • BS, University of Dayton, Nutrition
Area of Specialty
  • Clinical Nutrition
Roslyn Davis

Coordinating Preceptor, Head Start

Email: rdavis@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 714-9310
Office: Priory 256

Education
  • MBA, BS, Dominican University
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
Lissette Espindola

Coordinating Preceptor, Head Start

Email: lespindola@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 714-9330
Office: Priory 256

Education
  • BS, Dominican University, Nutrition and Dietetics
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
Elisa D’Urso Fischer

Director, Coordinated Dietetic Program

Email: efischer@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-5284
Office: Parmer 102B

Education
  • MS, RDN, LDN
  • MS, Rush University
  • BS, University of Delaware
Area of Specialty
  • Outpatient and Eating Disorder Nutrition Counseling
Brooke Fosco Schantz

Assistant Director of Coordinated Dietetic Program

Email: bschantz@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 010A

Education
  • MS, RD, LDN,
  • MS, Nutritional Sciences, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
  • BS, Purdue University with Honors, Dietetics
Areas of Specialty
  • Sports Nutrition
  • Medical Nutrition Therapy
Carol Garcia

Coordinating Preceptor, Advisor

Email: cgarcia@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 000

Education
  • MS, RDN, LDN
  • MS, Michigan State University, Applied Exercise Science with an emphasis in Sports Nutrition
  • BS, Concordia University, Nutrition & Dietetics
Area of Specialty
  • Outpatient and Sports Nutrition
Michel Harris

Lecturer

Email: mharris@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6912
Office: Parmer 103B

Education
  • MS, RDN, LDN
  • MS, Exercise Science
  • BS, Nutrition
Areas of Specialty
  • Diabetes
  • Eating Disorders
  • Food Science

 

Ana Irizarry

Coordinating Preceptor

Email: airizarry@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 000

Education
  • BS, Montemorelos University 
  • BS, Dominican University, Nutrition
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
Sarah Jones

Assistant Professor

Email: sjones@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 010C

Education
  • PhD, RD, LD
  • PhD, Case Western Reserve University
  • MS, University of Akron, Nutrition and Dietetics
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
Linda McDonald

Head Start Coordinator

Email: lmcdonald@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 714-9350
Office: Priory 260

Education
  • LDN
  • AA, Wright Junior College, Dietetics
  • BS, Chicago State University, Dietetics
  • ISPP, Dominican University
Area of Specialty
  • Community Nutrition
  • Inpatient and Outpatient Pediatric Nutrition Services
Yamunadevi Puraikalan

Assistant Professor

Email: ypuraikalan@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6367
Office: Parmer 103D

Education
  • PhD, RDN
  • PhD, Bharathiar University, India, Foods and Nutrition
  • MPh, University of Madras, Foods and Nutrition
  • MS, University of Madras, Foods and Nutrition
  • BS, University of Madras, Nutrition, Food Service Management and Dietetics,
Areas of Specialty
  • Food Product Development
  • Community Nutrition
Emily Radlowski

Assistant Professor

Email: eradlowski@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6270
Office: Parmer 010B

Education
  • PhD, RD, LDN
  • University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Nancy Rodriguez

Clinical Preceptor, Adjunct Faculty

Email: Nrodriguez1@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 010A

Education
  • MS, RDN, LDN
  • Northern Illinois University
  • MS, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
Area of Specialty
  • Clinical Dietetics
Sara Swiderski-Dandinidis

Clinical Preceptor

Email: sswiderskidandinidis@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 010A

Education
  • MBA, RDN, LDN
  • BS, Illinois Institute of Technology, Biology
  • BS, University of Illinois at Chicago, Human Nutrition
  • MBA, North Park University, Certification in healthcare marketing and organizational development
Area of Specialty
  • Clinical Dietetics
Linda Truver

Preceptor

Email: ltruver@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 010A

Education
  • RDN, LDN
  • BS, University of Illinois at Chicago, Nutrition and Medical Dietetics
Area of Specialty
  • Clinical Inpatient

 

Allyson West

Lecturer

Email: awest@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 103C

Education
  • PhD, RD
  • PhD, Cornell University
  • University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Food Science, Human Nutrition
Jill White

Head Start Director, Associate Professor Emerita

Email:  jwhite@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290

Education
  • EdD, Northern Illinois University
  • MS, University of Chicago
  • BA, Rosary College
Area of Specialty
  • Adult and Higher Education
  • Pediatric Dietetics
Joan DeAvilla

Administrative Assistant

Email: jdeavilla@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5290
Office: Parmer 102

Medical Science

Louis Scannicchio

Clinical Professor
Executive Director, PBPMP

Email: lscann@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6901
Office: Parmer 240

Education
  • BS, Benedictine University
  • DMD, Loyola University
Area of Specialty
  • Maxillofacial Surgeon
Carsi Hughes

Clinical Professor
Director, PBPMP

Email: chughes@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5004
Office: Parmer 218

Education
  • BA, Northwestern University
  • PHD, Northwestern University Medical School
Area of Specialty
  • Licensed Clinical Psychologist

Physician Assistant Studies

Richard Salcido

Program Director

Email: ssalcido@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6558
Office: Parmer 438

Education
  • MD, Autonomous University of Juarez (Mexico), Institute of Biomedical Sciences/School of Medicine
  • EdD, University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education
  • U.S. Army M.C PA-C (Ret.), Baylor University
Area of Specialty
  • Rehabilitation
Amal Dudar

Lecturer

Email: adudar@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6363
Office: Parmer 440

Education
  • MS, BS, University of Toledo, Physician Assistant Studies
  • BS, University of Toledo, Biology
Areas of Specialty
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Oncology
Maria Ferro

Lecturer

Email: mferro@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5175
Office: Parmer 430

Education
  • MS, AT Still University, Advanced Physician Assistant Studies
  • BS, Long Island University, Physician Assistant Program
Area of Specialty
  • Orthopedics
Mary Groll

Medical Director

Email: mgroll@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6372
Office: Parmer 437

Education
  • MD, Northwestern University
  • MS, Northern Illinois University
Area of Specialty
  • Pediatrics
Elizabeth Heintz

Director of Clinical Education

Email: eheintz@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 488-5181
Office: Parmer 439

Education
  • MMS, Western Michigan University, Physician Assistant Studies
  • BS, Michigan State University, Kinesiology
Area of Specialty
  • Hematology/Oncology
Julia Sonnichsen (Valerio)

Lecturer

Email: jvalerio@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6363
Office: Parmer 440

Education
  • MS, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Physician Assistant Studies
  • BS, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Nutrition
Areas of Specialty
  • Nutrition
  • Rheumatology
Tim Woods

Lecturer

Email: twoods@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6282
Office: Parmer 432-A

Education
  • PhD, University of California, Irvine, Biological Sciences
  • AB, Princeton University
Areas of Specialty
  • Anatomy
  • Neurobiology
Kenneth Black

Administrative Assistant

Email: kennethblack@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6377
Office: Parmer 402

Education
  • MBA, Dominican University, Healthcare Administration
  • BA, Dominican University, Marketing
Laura Viise

Administrative Assistant for Clinical Education

Email: lviise@dom.edu
Phone (708) 524-6385
Office: Parmer 439

Education
  • MS, Northwestern University
  • BS, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

 

Diane Wyman

Admission Coordinator

Email: dwyman@dom.edu
Phone: (708) 524-6387
Office: Parmer 402-C

Education
  • RDN
  • LDN
  • BS, Iowa State University, Nutrition and Dietetics