Theology Awards

Each academic department at Dominican University recognizes its most accomplished students each year by bestowing its Outstanding Senior awards.

Outstanding Senior in Theology
2012 Hannah Minks
2011 Justin Thirstrup
2010 Elizabeth Droel
2008 Tania Mann
2004 Barbara Roedel
2003 Sara Mendez
2002 Robbie Lasica
2001 Pat Meyer

Outstanding Senior in Pastoral Ministry
2010 Carolyn Schubert
2008 Regina Gallo, SP
2007 Marilyn Kortendick
2006 Vincent Zaprzal
2005 Mary Waters
2004 Barbara Roedel
2003 Kathryn Savage
2002 Paula Sims
2001 Colette Wisnewski

Closing Ceremony

As befits a small department where students and faculty become close over four years of challenging study, one of the year’s highlights is the ceremony held each spring. The ceremony has several parts:

  • Graduating theology majors present their required thesis
  • Graduating seniors in both theology and pastoral ministry receive a goodbye blessing that sends them out into the world. The blessing is given by someone who knows the student well and offers a specific and personalized prayer for that person.
  • Honor society induction of new members.
  • A party that caps off each academic year and leads to the next.