The Hispanic Heritage Award

The Hispanic Heritage Award honors a Latino alumna/us who distinguishes him/herself through professional work in the context of the Dominican core values of scholarship, reflection, community, and service with a sustained dedication to the advancement of the Latino community. The Hispanic Heritage Award is awarded during Una Tarde en la Plaza each October.

To nominate an alumna/us for the Hispanic Heritage Award, click the following Nomination form and select “Hispanic Heritage Award” in the drop-down menu.

Supplemental materials that can not be uploaded may be mailed to Office of Alumnae/i Relations, Dominican University, 7900 W. Division Street, River Forest, IL 60305. You can also fax supplemental materials to (708) 366-4197.

2017 Hispanic Heritage Award recipient


Dr. Lisette Rodriguez-Cabezas ’06

Previous recipients of the Hispanic Heritage Award include:
2005 - Xochitl Espinosa ’00, Manuel Flores ’96, Aracely Barragan Lawrence ’94
2006 - Caroline Sanchez Crozier ’79
2007 - Raul Magdaleno ’99
2008 - Hector Villagrana ’97
2009 - Eric Trejo ’93, MBA ’01
2010 - D. Jean Ortega-Piron ’78
2011 - Ramiro J. Atristaían-Carrión ’89
2012 - Domenica Ottolino-Kaht ’86, MSW ’06
2013 - Rolando Galindo ’08
2014 - Erika Corona Owens ’08
2015 - Dora Elías McAllister ’98
2016 - Gigi Benitez ’00
2017 - Dr. Lisette Rodriguez-Cabezas ’06

Nomination criteria include, but are not limited to:
- Outstanding contributions in his/her professional field 
- Outstanding contributions as demonstrated by policy or program involvement of regional or national significance for the Hispanic Community 
- Distinguished community leadership whose contributions at the local community, state or national level in the areas of planning, practice, or implementation of programs have positively impacted the Hispanic community 
- Publicly recognized commitment to advancing the living conditions of the Hispanic Community 
- Commitment and dedication to advocate for the most disadvantaged sectors of the Latino community and their families 

Please contact Alysha Biehl at or (708) 524-6296, with any questions regarding award nominations.